Our Curriculum

Top-quality teaching and learning

New Accountability Measures at KS4 and KS5 August 2016


In October 2013, Department for Education announced that a new secondary school accountability system would be implemented from August 2016. It includes two new headline measures at the end of KS4: Attainment 8 and Progress 8.

Progress 8 aims to capture the progress a pupil makes from the end of primary school to the end of KS4. It is a type of value added measure, which means that pupils’ results are compared to the actual achievements of other pupils with the same prior attainment.
The new performance measures are designed to encourage schools to offer a broad and balanced curriculum with a focus on an academic core at key stage 4 and measuring performance across 8 qualifications.

From 2016, the headline indicator of school performance determining the floor standard will be Progress 8.

What will be published in performance tables from 2016?

The KS4 headline measures are:

• Progress across 8 qualifications
• Attainment across the same 8 qualifications
• Percentage of pupils achieving the threshold in English and mathematics (currently a C grade, grade 5 when new GCSEs in English and mathematics are first reported in performance tables in 2017)
• Percentage of pupils achieving the English Baccalaureate
16-19 Accountability

The five headline measures from 2015/16 are:

• Progress: a value added progress measure for academic and applied general qualifications. These will be reported separately as a % of a grade below or above national achieved by pupils with similar prior attainment
• Attainment. This will be expressed as an average grade eg C+
• English and maths progress measure (for those students who have not achieved at least a
grade C at GCSE at the end of key stage 4)
• Retention
• Destinations

The most significant change in 2016 is that at Key Stages 2, 4 and 5 progress of pupils will be compared against the progress of pupils with similar prior attainment in the actual year of reporting. This real time measurement will mean that school reported results collected in August 2016 will not be comparable to previous years.  Progress 8 figures and the equivalent Level 3 value added score will not be available on results day and validated scores will not be available until January 2017.
In addition, changes to the reported measures means that trends from previous years cannot be established.



The Christian values and ethos of the school underpin all aspects of the curriculum at St Hilda’s.  The curriculum is defined as the total learning experience offered by the school to promote the development of the pupils’ journey in faith and to prepare them for the opportunities, experiences and responsibilities of adult life.


The curriculum goes beyond the national framework – its emphasis is on high achievement and is designed to offer all pupils the opportunities, challenges and encouragement to reach their full potential.  The curriculum embraces all that is learned through school, whether it be in lessons, during collective worship or part of informal learning within and beyond the school day.

The specific aims of the curriculum are:

• To provide a broad, coherent, balanced and relevant education which is matched to pupils’ abilities and aptitudes
• To help all young people to become successful learners, confident individuals and responsible citizens
• To promote literacy, numeracy and problem solving skills
• To promote the spiritual, moral, cultural, health and economic well-being of pupils
• To provide appropriate information, advice and guidance to pupils
• To promote differentiation, ensuring that all pupils can access the curriculum according to their appropriate needs and that able pupils are supported to reach their potential.
• To provide equality of access and opportunity for all pupils to ensure that all pupils make good progress
• To provide progression opportunities and prepare pupils for the next stage of their education, training or employment
• To provide access to extra-curricular activities
• To promote fundamental British values throughout the curriculum

Monitoring and Evaluation

The school regularly monitors the curriculum.  The many aspects of the school curriculum are kept under review by:

a) The Senior Leadership Team and Governing Body
b) Heads of Departments
c) Working groups that are convened when necessary to address specific initiatives
d) Each member of staff, with specific areas of responsibility defined within job descriptions


Our aim is to provide a comprehensive education for girls and boys between the ages of 11 and 18 that goes well beyond the National Curriculum.  The following aspects are included:

• Computing (11-16)
• Literacy
• Numeracy
• Personal, Social, Health, Citizenship and Economic Education
• Religious Studies
• Physical Education (11-16)

Key Stage 3 (Years 7 to 9)

All pupils follow a broad, balanced course of study which includes all subjects within the National Curriculum, including two modern foreign languages.

Key Stage 4 (Years 10 and 11)

In Years 10 and 11 pupils prepare for GCSE.  Every pupil must study English language, mathematics and science and the majority also take English literature and a modern foreign language.  In addition, optional subjects are available. Alongside academic options there are opportunities for pupils to choose a vocational course for the equivalent of one day a week.

Key Stage 5 (Years 12 and 13)

St Hilda’s prepares the majority of students for GCE A Levels but, in addition, BTEC subsidiary diplomas are offered.  The school offers a broad range of A Level subjects enabling all students to progress on to further study or work in their chosen career paths. As one of the four Sixth Forms that link together to form the Faiths Partnership, we are able to significantly extend the courses we offer to students.